Changes

After struggling through the one piece of public art a day challenge I have decided to end it early. I kept telling myself that I needed to stick it out, to push myself to complete the challenge but in the end I realized my heart wasn’t in it. There have been a few times I realized it’s been almost a week since I’ve placed anything; it ceased to be a priority of mine because I wasn’t enjoying it. Art is my passion, if it isn’t working for me then I need to change things up.

If I could have done it differently:

1. I would have made all 30 pieces before starting the month. (Once you realize you need to make something to place by tonight there is too much pressure.)
2. I would be less lazy. There were days that I didn’t place anything because I didn’t want to leave the house and use the gas to meet the days requirement.
3. I would have made a specific list of 30 places and stuck to it.

Last night I started my new 30 day challenge: A Stitch a Day. Every day I am going to embroider something onto a lap blanket size piece of muslin. By the end of the month I should have a quirky cloth journal of July to turn into a quilt. Last night I decided to chronicle what our day was like- comic books, video games and Chinese food; it was a wonderful Sunday.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Hi, I’m Aly!

I'm a nerdy chick who loves to craft and works in a comic shop.

Follow Stitch it to the Man on WordPress.com
Goodreads
