Beginnings: 30 days late

Filming Free Comic Book Day 2012

Let’s be frank, 365 day long projects are nothing new. Cesar Kuriyama, Traci Bunkers, Noah Scalin, Sheena Matheiken, and Karen Amarotico are just a few people who have chosen to hold themselves accountable for producing something creative every day over the span of a year. I’ve made several attempts in the past yet each time the idea fell to the wayside. But just over a month ago I was introduced to Kuriyama’s project; he has recorded one second of each day on film and then pieced each frame together to make a movie. He has been working on this project for over a year now and has no intentions of stopping.

I love the concept of documenting everyday life; it exemplifies the fleeting nature of our time on Earth and encourages us to be present in our experiences. I know, for me, 365 days of the same thing may seem too daunting and would discourage me from attempting it. I have decided that every 30 days I will embark on a new theme. Throughout May I decided to film a second every day as Kuriyama did.

Tomorrow starts the next 30 days’ challenge: leave a piece of art in public every day. I will post the location of each piece along with a photo here on a google map; the art pieces will each have a tag attached with the map url so that those who find the piece can sign in and comment on the pin of that object.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Hi, I’m Aly!

I'm a nerdy chick who loves to craft and works in a comic shop.

Follow Stitch it to the Man on WordPress.com
Goodreads
